Each year the Department of Theatre nominates students for a range of prizes. Beyond the various awards sponsored by Barnard College, Columbia College, and the Columbia College of General Studies, students are nominated for:

Kenneth Janes Prize in Theatre
Cash prize given annually to a Barnard junior or senior who has contributed notably to the theatre program of the Minor Latham Playhouse. All Barnard majors considered; no application.

Austin E. Quigley Prize

Cash prize for outstanding artistic and intellectual achievement, given to a Columbia College senior majoring in Drama and Theatre Arts. All Columbia College majors considered; no application.

Joseph M. Fee, Jr. Playwriting Prize

Cash prize given annually to one or two students--from Barnard College, Columbia College, or the College of General Studies--for an original play based on any aspect of the American experience. Applicants must have formally studied playwriting at Barnard or Columbia. Interested students must apply: contact the Theatre Administrator, Coretta Grant for details (